Annual awards held in Edinburgh

first_img Previous Article Next Article IOSH held its annual awards ceremony and dinner at the Murrayfield Stadium,Edinburgh in November. It was the Institution’s first annual dinner to be held in Scotland andfeatured the presentation of the Royal Charter by Graham Donald, deputy clerkof the Privy Council, and the bestowal of this year’s annual awards, given torecognise the achievements and contributions of occupational safety and healthprofessionals. The highlight of the awards ceremony was the presentation of the LifetimeAchievement Award, sponsored by Sypol Limited, which went to the former deputydirector general of HSE, David Eves CB. Three further annual awards were also presented: The Academic Journal Award,sponsored by Bland Bankart, went to professor Andrew Hale from the Delft Universityof Technology, Holland. The Practical Project Award, sponsored by Zurich Risk Services, went to NgLee Tak for his work at the Singapore Armed Forces National Service TrainingCentre. The Technician Safety Practitioner Scholarship, sponsored by Safety andHealth Practitioner magazine, went to Begona de la Cruz of London Underground. Special presentations, to mark more than 50 years’ membership of IOSH, weremade to retired members Leslie Ockleton, a past president, Stanley Simpson andThomas Kneale. A certificate was also presented to Timothy Walker, directorgeneral of the HSE, to mark his becoming an honorary vice-president of theinstitution. The event attracted over 250 members, many of whom joined in the ceilidh anddanced into the wee small hours. Related posts:No related photos. Comments are closed. Annual awards held in EdinburghOn 1 Dec 2002 in Personnel Todaylast_img read more